Charles Mingus
Final Work

© 1994 CMA Music Production GmbH
CMA Jazz CM 15007

Compact Disc

Even the engineers were apprehensive, we had been through some tough sessions with little time to prepare for men like Lionel Hampton, Buddy Rich and Earl Hines, but Charlie Mingus' reputation preceded him and there was an atmosphere of concern.

Robert Schachner (from liner notes)


  1. Peggy's Blue Skylight (5:16)
  2. Fables Of Faubus (6:12)
  3. Caroline Keikki Mingus (6:18)
  4. Slop (5:05)
  5. So Long Eric (4:32)
  6. Farewell Farwell (5:59)
  7. Just For Laughs (part 1) (4:26)
  8. It Might As Well Be Spring (5:32) Richard Rodgers
  9. Duke Ellington's Sound Of Love (5:54)
  10. Just For Laughs (part 2) (2:35)

    All compositions by Charles Mingus unless otherwise noted



Date and location
November 6, 1977, New York City
Total time
Original issue (year)
Reissues (year)
Lionel Hampton
Liner notes
Alun Morgan