Charles Mingus
Mingus Ah Um

© CBS Records, Inc.
CBS 450436 2 (Europe)

Compact Disc

It is incredible that Mingus can dredge out of the contemporary slough the potency and healing grace of his music. Pieces like 'Fables Of Faubus' 'Goodbye Pork Pie Hat' and others are miracles of a kind. They are there, available, God knows, for anyone of those not so bugged by the crazy barrage of the Communication of Nothing that they can still hear. Poetry and music are for those with straight connections between ears, eyes, head, heart, and gut.

Jonathan Williams, poet (from liner notes)


  1. Better Git It In Your Soul (7:22)
  2. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat (4:46)
  3. Boogie Stop Shuffle (3:41)
  4. Self-Portrait In Three Colors (3:05)
  5. Open Letter To Duke (4:56)
  6. Bird Calls (3:12)
  7. Fables Of Faubus (8:12)
  8. Pussy Cat Dues (6:27)
  9. Jelly Roll (4:01)

    All compositions by Charles Mingus



Date and location
Total time
Original issue (year)
Columbia CS 8171
Reissues (year)
Teo Macero
Ray Moore
Liner notes
Diane Dorr-Dorynek


Lead sheets to all compositions except 'Bird Calls' are available in More Than A Fake Book.

See also