Charles Mingus
Mingus Plays Piano

(P)(C) 199? Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, Inc.
MCA Impulse! MFCD 783

Compact Disc

... In the process, moreover, Mingus has also developed his own piano style; and judging from these performances, it is through the piano that Mingus is best able to express the more gentle, the more reflective and - I use the word with care - the more innocent elements of his personality.

Nat Hentoff (from liner notes)


  1. Myself When I Am Real (7:39)
  2. I Can't Get Started (3:40) (Vernon Duke)
  3. Body And Soul (4:31) (John Green)
  4. Roland Kirk's Message (2:40)
  5. Memories Of You (4:35) (Eubie Blake)
  6. She's Just Miss Popular Hybrid (3:08)
  7. Orange Was The Color Of Her Dress; Then Silk Blues (4:14)
  8. Meditations For Moses (3:39)
  9. Old Portrait (3:45)
  10. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You (3:44) (George Bassman)
  11. Compositional Theme Story: Medleys, Anthems And Folklore (8:35)

    All compositions by Charles Mingus unless otherwise noted



Date and location
July 30, 1963, New York City
Total time
Original issue (year)
Impulse A-60
Reissues (year)
Bob Thiele
Bob Simpson
Liner notes
Nat Hentoff


Another Mingus interpretation of Eubie Blake's 'Memories Of You' can be heard on East Coasting.